The wanderer returns

This was a wedding present 49+ years ago and the shell which is hinged needed repairing. It has been away for a long time and returned last night. 

I posted my blip yesterday thinking that my ECG was the most momentous event of the day. Little was I aware that we would have a medical incident at home.

I went to the garage to tell B that his dinner was ready and found him lying on the floor clutching his chest in agony. It turned out that had been carrying a large plastic box, had tripped over something and in the process of falling, whilst trying not to hit the breeze block wall, had fallen on the the handle of the hoover. Having checked that he was safe to move we (me) struggled to get him into the house. He looked dreadful and had a very low blood pressure. He cannot have been there longer than a few minutes, but it was very cold.

Cutting a long story short, after an hour with minimal improvement I rang 111. The lady was very helpful, gave some advice and said that someone would ring back within an hour, but if I didn’t get a call to take him to our local A&E within 3 hours.

By the time we got the call he had warmed up, was a better colour, his blood pressure had risen and was back to normal. We agreed on pain relief and against a trip to A&E, but was advised to get him there if the situation deteriorated. 

Fortunately B had a fairly restful night, although his pain persists.

It’s the first time that I have contracted 111 and was very impressed with the way that they handled things. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.