Second-time-around

By Skysea7

I knocked the stone sculpture down!

The weather was dismal.  But suddenly the sun appeared and I dashed off to the nearest beach at Charlestown because I feared the sun wouldn't last long enough for me to drive any further.  It didn't.  Ten minutes and that was it!

There was a man balancing stones on Charlestown beach.  As I walked along the beach and back, he had finished it and stopped me and asked me to knock it down!  I would rather have seen HIM knock it down so I could photograph it!  But he wanted to film it.  So I had to stand where he directed, take the heavyish stone he pointed to, and throw the stone at it on his word.  So I did!  It collapsed and he was happy with his bit of film.

He said it was too dangerous to leave because dogs or children could easily have knocked it over and got hit by flying stones.  He has a Facebook page and an calendar he is selling on Etsy - he takes photos of his balanced stone sculptures  with the sea in the background, on different beaches in Cornwall.  Looking at his page I saw that he also paints some amazing murals on the sides of buildings!

I did take a photo with the sea in the background but the light was by then so poor that the photo just wasn't sharp enough.  And the sea was looking dismal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.