Wild goose chase

It was a bit dreary but I knew if I stayed in I’d just end up doing more sorting and I knew that it was written in an ancient text somewhere that birthdays should be spent well hunting if the opportunity presents itself.
Since leaving Norfolk I’ve been suffering goose withdrawal so went up to the Solway to find some. Lots of lapwings but no geese here at Port Carlisle so onwards in search of Chapel Well and then St.John’s well near Greenwell. No luck with either but I met a nice chap who was very chatty ‘I’ve hardly spoken to anyone new for 10 months’, he said, but then said, ‘strange that, someone else was here a few weeks ago looking for that well, no one here knows anything about it but I did look and see it’s on the map’. I had a mooch but no luck ... it felt like one of those detective programmes ... there’s another well detective out there ... I’m assuming it wasn’t Paula.

Back home and a drink and nibbly bits with my friend who called in after work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.