Thundersnow

Today I learned a new word and discovered a fresh phenomenon of nature - Thundersnow. I was wakened at some point during the early hours of the night by a huge crash. It sounded like some building collapse or explosion in the distance, so what did I do? I turned over and went back to sleep, the latter being a scarce commodity in my life these days and seeing that my immediate environment was Intact. It wasn’t until I saw reports online of other people in Edinburgh wondering about the same crash that the meteorologists opined it to be Thundersnow which occurs when thunder and lightning mix with a heavy snowstorm.

I believe them even when there was absolutely no snow when I got up at 7am, just light drizzle. There was no Blipfoto either when I was alerted by Munroist to the fact, but that righted itself .

It was somewhat milder than yesterday and the paths and grass on the Meadows were clear of slush and snow which meant an easy walk to post my Christmas cards and meet up with son #2 who had taken 2 days holiday.
We had a pleasant hour talking Christmas talk.
He is rightly fearful that a lot of people are going to push the boundaries of the loosened restrictions between the 23rd and 27th December and cause a further wave of the virus.
He and Luca have been exemplary in abiding by the rules only to see their lives short changed by the antics of a sizeable minority. He has a point, but that’s democracy for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.