Bargain World

To the pharmacy at our local Mall first thing to collect a prescription, It wasn’t available yet, so I was asked to call back later. So I returned last thing.

These two occasions are the second and third times I have been into a “ shop” since March. And tonight was the first time I have driven at night since then. Shielding is very necessary for us, but I am conscious of the need not to become too detached from reality.

This (former) retail unit adjoins the pharmacy. The image could be a commentary on the impact of the pandemic on the High Street and retail sector. Except it closed last October.

Truth is, the pandemic has accelerated trends already underway. Debenhams and the Arcadia brands might have struggled on a few years, diminishing year on year, but the shift online was already well underway before COVID-19 finished these stores off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.