EB....Christmas Cactus Flower

Here it is late evening and I realized I didn't have a photo for today.....then I saw the Christmas Cactus in bloom....okay, it will have to do.......so here is a bloom from the plant that is in full bloom right now. 

I decided to give my kitchen a deep clean after the lower in the sky bright sunlight showed the spills on the cabinet doors. While I was at it I filled a box for the Thrift Shop of things we haven't used in a long time and vacuumed those crumbs that seem to appear in the drawers.....it looks great.....I don't even care that it will need to be done again and again as we continue to live and cook in this kitchen every day.....it looks good today.

I found some jewelry today that was my great great grandmother's; I know that because it is a locket with her mother's photo in it and I have a painting of her wearing it. I don't know what to do with it.....it was in a box I haven't looked in for years....none of my kids are interested in it......it doesn't seem okay to just get rid of it....what do you do with old things like this.....the chain is gold colored, ornate and bulky.....I would never wear it. I have other things like this: an very old iron, darning ball, crocheted thingies my grandma made, antique vases, etc....none of it on display.....all is boxed away. My son was over here looking for something while we were at the beach and he gently mentioned he was anxious about whether he should offer to help me clean up some of the clutter I have saved.......I don't think he was talking about this stuff, but it has gotten me to thinking about all of it. One of the grandchildren might be interested when they are older, but I doubt it. Oh well, no reason to worry, 2020 has enough worry of its own....but being alone gives me time to see all the boxes in closets and the attic, especially as I pull out some of my Christmas decorations.

 I am grateful for good health....not counting all the aches and pains.....I suppose they aren't counted in the good health status of us older people. I am grateful for plenty of closets and a big attic and a sunny day today.

I hope your weekend is delightful and that you are healthy too......stay safe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.