Neigh

A horse from today's stroll. I dragged Mr DA out for a walk around Cowdray Park, in search of the Cowdray Colossus, the biggest sweet chestnut tree in England (see Extras). I've only just found out that it exists, whereas I've long known about  its neighbour, the Queen Elizabeth Oak, apparently visited by QE1 in 1591, and estimated to be anything between 700 and 1000 years old (also in Extras).

In other news, we have now acquired a lemon tree, which was my late mother-in-law's. We are notoriously hopeless at keeping anything green alive, so if anyone has any tips as to how to care for it, please let me know! For now, we've put it in the porch as I'm not sure it should be outside during the winter and we don't have either a greenhouse or a conservatory. It is in a big, incredibly heavy pot and survived happily outside in its previous home by the sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.