BearRabbitFrog

By BearRabbitFrog

astrid

About 12 years ago, when my son was tiny, our beautiful neighbor Astrid agreed to care for him while I worked in the morning. Some days when I returned, I would stay with her daughter while she went in to the office for a few hours. Maybe without even knowing we were co-oping parenthood, new motherhood, new wife-dom.

On the best days, when neither of us had afternoon obligations we could just rest for a bit, catch up on the day, discuss the most recent episodes of "Friends" and "Temptation Island", or share a pot of hazelnut flavored coffee. It was during such a visit that I first met Cadbury Minieggs- small candy-coated morsels of chocolaty heaven that, once sampled, must be in plentiful supply. Only available around Easter, we felt a responsibility to enjoy them as only the fleeting pleasure can be - to excess.

All this time later, these kinds of gray, moody, spring days demand Cadbury Minieggs...and Astrid's company. Our babies now teens, I imagine we'd have much to discuss should we still live down the street from one another. Even as I write, I marvel at how much has changed since then; the memories seem more like a movie than my life.

Simply put, I'm grateful for this mini-egg portal to the past. Hope you've picked up a bag, Astrid! Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.