simisue

By simisue

STRAWBERRY TREE: ARBUTUS unedo

These tiny flowers blooming in December are on a small Strawberry Tree,
which is native to Europe.  It grows bright red fruit that look a little like strawberries. They are nutritious & can be made into jams or alcoholic drinks.  It is in the same family as Heather.   I am wondering if the birds or
other wildlife eat them.

Our neighborhood planted them all along the main thoroughfares, &  on the slope behind my house, where it looks more like a large shrub. They seem to thrive in the brutal Summer heat &  winds during the Winter.  

Today Angus & I walked all the way to Candy Cane Lane, to see the Christmas decorations during the day.  It's amazing how different the houses look.. At night the whole street is ablaze with lights, but today we could only see the promise of them.  

When we first left the house, it was cold & as I looked up at the sky,  I thought, snow must be on the way.  By the time we reached 
Candy Cane Lane the sun & blue sky had broken through & I needed to take off my jacket.  It has snowed here, but very rarely.

This was just the beginning of a busy day.....
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.