The Windmills of Your Mind

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellows,

I slept very badly last night. Allergies. The inside of my nose became very swollen and I think even when I was asleep, I wasn't rested. If you see what I mean. 

This did not dampen the spirits of Feefs and Caro. After I made them breakfast they made the most of Feefs and her rental car to go to Mitre 10 for paint, DIY supplies and paving stones to make a better set of steps up to the hedge-hole. 

You can see Caro out there in the picture, improving the entrance for the hedgehog. You can also see Jasper on the other side of the fence, giving her direction, as only he can. 

Feefs left us around noon to drive back to the airport. Caro was a bit sad, so I put on some telly for her and promptly fell asleep. I was aware of time passing and occasionally of tv shows ending and then other ones starting. 

Eventually I was dimly aware that Caro was asleep too. And that the afternoon was starting. I could feel the sun coming in and the room heating up. Caro told me she was getting too hot and so I tried to wake up so that I could put on the air conditioning. 

But then I closed my eyes again. Honestly, waking up was like swimming upward through goop. 

Eventually I managed it, but the world still felt very porridgey. Caro was also partially awake, blinking around. I told her I would switch on the a/c. 

"What are you talking about?" she asked. 

It occurred to me that when she had told me she was too hot, our living room was subtly different. We had curtains instead of blinds. And I realised that I'd only been dreaming that I was dreaming and couldn't wake up from the dream, but that I couldn't wake up from the actual dream about the dream either. 

How "Inception" is that? 

I wonder if I'm writing to you now from inside a 3rd dream. And maybe there IS no blip. And no internet. And no you. 

You have to admit, the hedge-hole IS pretty far-fetched.

S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.