My little German corner

wood carvings from the German Erzgebirge  -  handmade folk art.

PS: exceptions: upper shelf and on the lower shelf the little English soldier, this one came from my hubby's physical therapist, he surprised me with it the other day.
I remember where all ornaments came from and it's nice to remember the person who gave you the gift.
The tiny little angels came from my mother.The smoking men and the creche came from my former pen friend from East Germany. I sent her baking goods, coffee and even building material like nails.
She worked for the government and had a good job. I visited her with my children at her parent's house in Thuringen, and later on in East Berlin. I have fond memories of her and her husband and children. 
After I moved to the US, I have never heard from her. I even tried to call people in Berlin with the same last name, but nothing. I really would like to find out, what happened to her.
On the other hand, one year, when I visited Bulgaria's Gold coast, we met an wonderful couple from East Germany. They are both physicians and we still write once a year to each other for Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.