AlwaysWandering

By alwayswandering

Silver and Glass

So, I took a breather this weekend. I had to give a talk out of town (well, out of one of my towns, and luckily, in the other). But, that wasn't the breather -- thank GOODNESS! In order to do the talk, I had to cancel class and give students a make-up assignment. I asked them go take a picture of "culture" and then write up one page on what culture was and why their photo represented culture to them. Then, of course, we get to talk about perspective, reading images as text, culture, and image as political, all very lovely anthropological issues.

Since I had to cancel class, I "gave" myself that extra hour and made something with the new beads that a friend just sent me from a trip she took to New Mexico. This was the result. I didn't make the beads, or forge the silver, of course, but i did everything else, even the chain. I liked the results. Though I suppose I should have been working on that article...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.