Glossy ibis.

The weather forecast, being an habitual liar, took malicious satisfaction in seeing me, and my newly cleaned bike, getting quite wet on my morning ride. I'm glad I didn't turn back early as, taking a detour, I came across these glossy ibis (I don't know if there is a term for the plural.)
Standing nearby was a photographer with a lens like a sawn off traffic cone. I felt a bit feeble whipping out my pocket camera, which doesn't really show the chestnut, purple and green plumage.
In the past ten years or so they seem to be more numerous, and are now no longer on the rarity list. I'd never seen them before.
Ancient Egyptians used to worship the sacred ibis as the god Thoth, responsible for maintaining the universe. I cycled quietly away, not wishing any black holes to be thrown at me.
Have a fun festive day, everyone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.