Guinness cake

We are going skiing for a few days next month, the snow is very good in the Sierra Nevada. Today we went to pay for the holiday and Shirley, the organiser, mentioned my guinness cake, I gave her a small cake at Christmas, It's a tradition that I make a cake to take away whe we go skiing. I've bought all the Carrefour's own dark beer, much cheaper than guinnes and does the same job. Tomorrow the cake will be baked, wrapped and put away until we go away on 5 March.

We also bought a new gas hob, it is being installed on Monday, I could have had it done today, but it wasn't convenient, so the fitter is coming after midday, we will wait and see.

The reason we have bought the hob - we are going on a dual tarriff for our electricity, and we will be paying a much higher rate between 10am and 10pm, so, it's back to gas cooking, which I prefer. Okay so the initial outlay for the hob has got to be taken into account, but that should be recouped within the first year, it also means I've got to get used to doing my washing earlier in the morning than I do at present, to make full use of the cheaper electricity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.