At The Pictures

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellows,

Today Macca and the kids had to go up the coast a little bit to Waikenae where Macca's brother lives, for family Xmas day.

It was not without stress for them. The big thing was that they were meeting the new wife of one of Macca's brothers. His ex-wife has been given the heave-ho and since they liked her, there was that whole thing about whether they were allowed to like Wife 2.0 or not. 

Christmasses, eh?

Caro and I took the opportunity to nap. In fact, I'd had a terrible night's sleep so I had a full-on SLEEP for a couple of hours. 

Then, everyone returned with the news that New Wife is in fact LOVELY, but it was "weird" without Previous Wife. 

I had booked seats to see the new Wonder Woman movie, and even Caro wanted to come along, which surprised me. Neither of us liked the previous one, and in fact we confirmed this on Christmas Eve by watching it again with the Maccas.

Still. The new one was getting FABULOUS reviews. It must be great, right?

"F***ing hell that was ****," said Caro on the way out. "Don't tell the kids, I don't want to dampen their enthusiasm."

For the record, I agreed with her assessment. But didn't dampen the kids' enthusiasm. 

Afterward, we got burgers and retired to the house. I was quite touched when Jackson mentioned "going home" and he meant to ours. I wanted it to feel like home.

But I could tell that Caro, Macca and Talia needed a break so I suggested they watch "Real Housewives of Salt Lake City"* while Jackson and I watched "Jack Reacher". 

It was then I realised I had not taken a blip all day. Hence today's crappy picture of our cinema. You might be able to make out the silhouette of Caro's bike on the left. 

S.

* This is an actual thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.