Among some trees I noticed piles of wood some of which would have been ideal for a fire and it reminded me that today is St Stephen’s Day when
Good King Wenceslas look’d out
    On the Feast of Stephen ………
When a poor man came in sight,
    Gath’ring winter fuel………
 
The king asked his page to help him by taking food, wine and wood to the peasant and so
 
Page and monarch forth they went,
    Forth they went together;
Through the rude wind’s wild lament,
    And the bitter weather.
“Sire, the night is darker now,
    And the wind blows stronger;
Fails my heart, I know now how
    I can go no longer.
 
His page wanted to give up the struggle against the cold weather but Wenceslas persuaded him to follow in his footprints through the deep snow so that they carry out their act of kindness.
 
It was quite scary walking beside tall trees today lest any tall branches fell in the very strong winds but unlike Wenceslas I saw no deep and crisp and even snow, but very heavy rain as soon as I reached home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.