Easter and Wester Lochs of Daldorn

What a beautiful winter day. Storm Bella has gone leaving behind not too much damage (as far as I can see) though plenty of huge puddles. The sun is shining, there's no wind and there has been snow. Not in town but only a bit to the west.

Definitely a morning for a walk and a spot of reservoir/loch bagging. Scouring the OS maps I've been identifying tiny bodies of water to make a target. I'm going to run out of reservoirs as lockdown continues. I'm hoping to visit or at least see all the very small lochs in the local area.

The main blip is Wester Loch of Daldorn and in the extra Easter Loch of Daldorn. I've also added an extra of the area where the lochs are located. It's a view to the Trossachs, west of Callander, towards Ben Venue. The lochs are on farmland near Deanston and it was impossible to get to the edge of either. Wester Loch was so muddy and boggy on the margins and at Easter Loch a bit of rhododendron management is needed. I can't imagine many people bother with them though at Wester Loch there was a canoe which I guess is for the farmer to paddle out. Must be lovely to do that.

Good to have a goal for the walk and although it wasn't many steps it was a bit of a workout clambering around. Home for lunch and the last mince pie. This afternoon I'm planning to plant the tulip bulbs I was lucky enough to be given for Christmas. I'll find other jobs to do in the garden too. I've hardly been out there all month. This evening we'll be eating a vegan nut roast. My idea of fun but Cameraman doesn't like nuts. Fortunately there's still plenty of other leftovers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.