Mandy's photo journal

By MandyO

Who lives...

...in a house like this?

I don't know.
This construction was in the middle of a large field that we crossed on one of our 'long' walks (no 17 in my book Rambling around Reading).
It's becoming a fascinating pastime. I'm constantly amazed at the proximity of ancient, secluded bridle paths to A roads, where you can hear the traffic thunder past but can't see it. Beautiful hedgerows and fields strewn with Foster lager cans and carrier bags, because they happen to back onto a petrol station, or fast food outlet. The range and variety of accomodation where modern housing estates still under construction are shoulder to shoulder with last century terraced cottages and grander country houses, where you can glimpse stable yards and paddocks beyond their manicured driveways. And all this is going on within a couple of miles where I live in a suburb of a city in South East England.

We got lost again. I've poured over the walking guide, local maps and Google Earth, but I can't for the life of me figure out where I went wrong. We walked for about two and a half hours, but it was only when I got lost that my foot started hurting and I really needed to pee...I'm going to have to go back one day and figure it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.