As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

Okpik - "Snowy Owl"

This was taken somewhere in the air between Minneapolis and NYC.

We got up at 5:30 this morning to pack and get ready to leave Northern Tier. We had breakfast with our interpreters and some other staff members before saying goodbye to Colin and Drew and getting in the van that would take us to the airport. We drove for about three and a half hours, watching Napoleon Dynamite and the Spongebob Movie before stopping at Dairy Queen for lunch. I'm not a fan of the food there, but the ice cream is great. Another hour until the airport. We had some problems with checking bags, but once we got past that, we headed through security and to our flight. I read Madame Bovary for most of the flight. We touched down in New York around 6:00 EST. We waited in the rain for almost 45 minutes until the van finally came to take us home. It felt awesome to have a good meal and a nice long shower when I got home.

This trip was truly amazing and I know that I'll always remember it and carry what I learned at Okpik with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.