Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Ice Age

The mirror on the staircase leading up to our bedroom is a portal to other times and dimensions. Tonight the me from five years time was in there, gesturing frantically, but unfortunately the sound is broken so I couldn’t hear myself speak. Eventually he - I mean I - held up a note telling me that after Covid we were struck by a new ice age in 2025, by which time Kamala Harris was president of the USA and Marcus Rashford was Prime Minister of Britain. Recep Erdogan and Vladimir Putin had both died when fighting each other at a global warming summit (apparently Putin challenged Erdogan to trial by combat). Iceland had won the World Cup but only because the other countries got confused about what year it was and Iceland were the only ones who sent a team, 

Bummer about the ice age. Mind you I was planning on retiring then anyway. I just hope that fur coat I’m wearing is faux and certified vegan.

We did have a mini ice age today - the new chest freezer was delivered and we stocked it with stuff from Tesco. The theory is that we can avoid shopping for the next two months and minimise the risk of Covid.

And my brother slipped on the ice outside his front door in Saltaire and broke his wrist. Mind you it’s always freezing oop north.

UK hit a new high today - 1,563 deaths in a day from the pandemic, taking the total over 100,000. Sad stuff. I know so many people who have contracted it in this latest surge. And there are at least four mutations out there in the world now - you have to wonder when it will all end...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.