Billy Goat

By billygoat

Job to do.......

The skeg supporting the bottom bearing for the rudder is everso slightly loose - the surveyor spotted that it would move a bit and suggested I drop the skeg, reseal it and retighten it. You can see evidence of a weep below the studs.
The skeg is held on by those 4 stainless steel studs below the cockpit drain.
The other obstructions are the water tank fill hose and the red pipe is the teleflex cable for the gear change. The blue thing in the bottom right hand corner is the flexible water tank. Just out of shot is the heavy rubber exhaust hose.
I tried a spanner on one of the nuts and it moved, so I reckon I should be able to get a box spanner on to undo them, probably dislocate my shoulder in the process as this lot is at the far end of a six foot long cockpit locker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.