Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

Samuel Turner Memorial...

... The inscription tells us that Samuel Turner died on Oct 4th 1876 aged 73.
He was Treasurer to the Devonshire Hospital and Buxton Bath Charity... A native of Buxton, an active and useful townsman, a good neighbour and a kind friend (amongst other things). Top man!
(He would have missed Vera Brittain by a few decades; she didn’t move to Buxton until 1904, when she was 11, but I digress).
It’s a fine memorial, I like the lamp on the top (very Dixon of Dock Green, how’s yer feet?).

Pretty much all of our snow has gone now, apart from a few old snowmen, hanging in there, shrunken and in grubby attire. (Much like myself).
It’s wet and grey today.
I don’t mind wet or grey.

I bought myself a new dress online yesterday. It was a bargain, but apart from that I can’t explain why I did. It’s a floaty number. I needed it about as much as a bollard needs a bobble hat. It’s the kind of garb a person like myself, ‘casual’, let’s say (kindly) would only ever wear to a wedding, but if you were to go to a wedding (and I’m unlikely to in the foreseeable) you’d probably want ‘a better one’ anyway... Or you’d never find a hat or shoes to look right with it... That old hat and shoes dilemma eh? When I pressed ‘buy’ I imagined myself swanning around the garden, cutting sweet peas and nerines and laying them delicately in the kind of basket that I don’t have (because they snag your cardi).
This Lockdown is inciting some very interesting behaviour.

I expect they’ll accept returns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.