Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Splash Down

Yesterday I retraced my steps to the Mill hoping to be able to photograph the Mistle Thrush that I'd seen on Wednesday.
I could hear it singing in the distance but in an area where I couldn't gain access, so no photo.
At the bridge over Colleybrook, Jorgie and I paused again for quite a while trying to identify all the bird calls. 
The Dipper made a brief appearance but no photo.
There was also a Goldcrest or Firecrest in a bush nearby but....you've guessed.
So no entry for yesterday


Today however, there were several possibilities for a blip.

After Jorgie's morning walk I swapped her for my camera and headed over to Stover where I'd arranged to meet Kipsie.
It was a glorious morning.
Our plan was to try and find the KF and/or buzzard. Of course we found neither.
Instead, as we made our way slowly around the lake we spotted a pair of Common Mergansers and at least one other female. They soon proved to be shy birds, keeping well away from us but I've included one of the male in extra showing off his striking dark green head and bright red beak.

The Black-Headed Gulls were mobbing the main lake but as we were watching a smaller pond looking for the kingfisher, a few flew over and started dropping into that water.
A chance to practice some flight shots in the bright light but, in the end
I like the symmetry of this image and that little splash to the side.
Although the image has a painterly quality, I haven't done anything to it other than change it from a raw file into a jpeg

It was good to have some company today and catch up with everything

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.