ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Breda -- along Graaf Engelbrechtlaan

No rain today and less cold, plus, to my genuine surprise, a little bit of sun! Well, well, whaddaya know! In short, a day for driving along that little known area in Breda which includes the Graaf Engelbrechtlaan, outside the Mastbosch but actually not that far away from it. Will definitely return here more often when the weather improves (whenever that will be).

The infrastructure in this area was affected drastically when the A16 was widened and the railway connection for the high-speed Fyra trains was established, so that this 'corner of the woods' is no longer as tucked away as it used to be, a fact which I find a little unfortunate.

Too bad I couldn't hang around too long. Delayed my departure due to the usual greyness earlier in the day. When I did go, I realized that I had to catch a particular audio equipment shop before closing time. I needed to buy a new stereo set (the type where you can now plug in your USB and dock an iPhone) and told the store owner that I had two very good speakers at home, and could I trade them in for a discount for the stereo. He agreed, but did not tell his subordinates. In short, a rather sloppy bad news conversation lacking all the necessary communication competenties which even my first-year business students in Rotterdam would be quick to point out. I ended up going to another shop where the price, trade-off and all, came up 50 euros cheaper than I was promised in that first shop.

It's nice to have more than one excuse to go to Breda.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.