Rodents rule

By squirk

Snow

It's an unusual event in London (so it makes the news, even though there's been snow elsewhere for a while).The size of the flakes was impressive and, although not enough for making a snowman, it did lie. The pond froze over completely. 

The biggest news of the day was that I spied a chaffinch in the garden – that's a first for me. Redwings dotted the branches in the snow, but the pigeons were still first on the feeders.

Talking of feeders, my latest discovery for webcam viewing is watching hummingbirds on these feeders in Los Angeles: The Studio City Gang (no activity at night, of course).

I finished The Salt Path, which a friend had as one of his best reads of last year. The book was already on my shelf, so I gave it a one chapter test after which I was sobbing into my tea – that first chapter really got me. It's ultimately a story of love, with some silliness, despair and frustration thrown in. I've walked two sections of the South West Coast Path without planning too much on where to spend the night, so sections really resonated with me. I didn't wild camp, but there were moments where that was almost the option, but a campsite was always found. A really excellent read, which will stick with me for a long time.

This evening, I'm thinking of a friend who I was supposed to meet today and who felt fluey – paws crossed it's not the dreaded COVID. He's staying in bed. When catching up on the phone, he told me about someone we know who is in hospital with the dreaded disease. We aren't in contact with his family so we don't know how he's doing. I hope he's on the road to recovery and is out of hospital soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.