Jen_Elliot

By Jen_Elliot

Ouch

Came off my bike on black ice on a curved slight downhill early this morning. Stupidly I touched the brake at the point I usually do but today - whoosh bike went from under me.

Was conscious of helmet visor bouncing off the ground, realising there and then it had saved my head and face. I cried out. Falling is horrible. A runner heard me cry out and checked I was okay. I was amazed nothing hurt but a big wave of nausea washed over me. It was slippy but I was able to get back on bike and cycle. Got to my work appointment but my right wrist was stiffening and hurting. Did the two hours but cancelled next appointment. Got home.

I had called NHS 24 when I got to the first appointment and after a series of questions they said paracetamol, elevation, ice and rest. It is bloody sore but I can move my fingers, so pretty hopeful it is a sprain and not a fracture. You can see above the wrists are not very different. Going to have to wait and see. Annoying.

Edit: should add that my daughter took the above pic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.