I got lost !

People who know the Woodland Trust reserve might reasonably be puzzled. It’s quite small and simply laid out.

But this morning was damp and muddy. I was wearing my snow boots which work well with slush and mud, but I had underestimated the quagmire. 

I headed through the oldest part of the woodland, to The Roundabouts, and it was hard and hazardous to pick my way through the huge puddles and remaining ice.  If you know the novels of Elly Griffiths, imagine the Saltmarsh in the mist...... well not really. 

I turned off my usual path and kept going. And kept going. And it didn’t come out where I expected. So I kept going, through mud, snow, slush, and more mud. 

Suddenly I came to a very familiar bench. I’ve paused there often when exercising after both of my hip replacements. 

There were catkins.

There were friendly (distanced) people with dogs (not distanced). 

It was much further than I’d planned. But it was lovely. 

It was quite early, and my blip shows the glimmering of early sun through the trees. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.