Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Molly and movies. Neither very successful...

Swam 1km this morning. I was in two minds. Three minds, actually. First of all, it crossed my mind that it would be nice to lie abed for a while. But I got my togs and goggles and was off before I could change my mind. Then it was a pea-souper mist. I thought it would be fantastic at the duck pond, with swans appearing out of the gloom. Should I go on to the pond? But no, I went swimming. And it was glorious sunshine when I came out. It WOULD have been brilliant at the pond...

Went shopping after my porridge. This involves, for me, the internet. Ordered my new stand for the Speedlite, and a gorillapod. I love that kind of shopping.

I rang Molly to see if she'd like to come out to play. She did, but she had a bit of an upset stomach. What have you been eating, Molly? It was a glorious day - I even had to take my coat off! Though I kept my hat on. Molly was not the madhouse she usually is, and kept not rushing back each time with the ball, but wandering round having a good sniff about, stalling. And in fact, as we left, she did a great big liquid poo. No way was I using a doggie bag!!

It was a lovely day, but I had decided to go the afternoon movie - Silver Lining Playbook. The actress won the Oscar, and I've read good reviews. Well... not my kind of movie. Too much shouting, not the slightest bit funny (although a couple of ladies up the back laughed uproariously several times) and totally predictable. But Bradley took my mind off how pathetic it was. He's gorgeous.

Before I went in to the movies, I sat in the sun, put my camera on my knee, folded out my live view screen (which means I don't need to lift it to my eye to frame the shot) and just kept snapping away (in the photographic sense) at the passers by.

Then I put three of the photos together. I left out the two lycra clad joggers for the sake of good taste, although some of the jeans are dodgy. I had to check on YouTube how to do it again, using layer masks. But it was good fun. I like to learn new techniques. Even if I have to consult the video each and every time I do it.

So I chose the street scene instead of Molly posing nicely by the tree in the sun, as I spent hours doing it haven't done a street scene for a while.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.