Beewriter

By Beewriter

Brrrrrrrrrr!!!!

Oh Lordy, it was bloomin’ freezing this morning....and that was before I got in the water! The wind was bitter and it was trying to snow. Last week it took me three and half minutes of puffing, arm waving and generally just faffing about before I eventually went in beyond my hips. I was under in fifty seconds today. My neoprene gloves and foot socks arrived this week and they made a difference. I managed two circuits of the course so I was really chuffed and Dave was so encouraging as I swam.

I found a great piece of artwork that says, “Do you think I care that you can see my nipples? If you do then you’ve never been cold water swimming.” Well, I thought of that as I struggled to put a tight thermal top on in the car park today!! I was so cold that my legs came out in big black bruises.

Pat had come down to the Quays and so when I was finally decent we went for a walk round. It helped me warm up a bit, but I always feel cold all day after a swim.

Pat and I went for a long walk this afternoon too. It is soooo cold out there. I’m still trying to defrost my face. But....I enjoyed it all.

I think it will snow overnight. For now I will cuddle my hot water bottle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.