Surprise!!!

Yesterday I received a parcel - from Australia
The customs declaration said 'Jigsaw puzzle' - the sender's name was unfamiliar to me!
I spent several minutes chatting across the driveway to my neighbour about why and who had sent it ? Ebay ? not ordered anything lately and never from Oz! Not meant for me ? name and address totally correct!
Nothing for it but to open it - immediately I saw it the penny dropped!! 

This is the cottage where my Great Aunt Vi lived, where I spent every summer holiday from about the age of 11 until I left school. Not just me - but my cousin Colin, son of my Auntie Hilda, three years younger than me. Sometimes we were joined by other cousins Michael and Peter - Auntie Vi liked to have us there and there was plenty to do in the 1950s - simple pleasures like 'helping' the farmer get the cows in for milking, playing by the stream at the bottom of the lane or in the bomb-damaged churchyard, and, when I learned to ride a bike, trips further afield to Bodiam Castle or nearby villages. Wet days (were there any? ) were spent round the table with the contents of her games cupboard - board games, jig saws, books of course - no TV only Radio then, just a choice of Light Programme, Home Service or Radio Three. We were never bored!

Colin posted this photo on facebook a while ago and, when he saw from my posts that I like jigsaws he had this one made for me (and one for himself). Such a lovely surprise, so unexpected, such precious memories - almost made me cry! 
Why did I not recognise the name of the sender - simply because he had asked his partner, Linda, to post it  - I know Linda, of course, they have visited me several times - but I never knew her surname!!!

I have several jigsaws in hand yet to do - but I think this one will jump the queue!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.