Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Yesterday upon the stair

I met a man who wasn’t there
He wasn’t there again today
I wish that man would go away

Robert Peel has been sitting on our stairs for three days now and is beginning to annoy me. Like a policeman hanging around on the corner, making you feel uncomfortable. 

Peel was prime minster twice and home Secretary twice as well. I did actually meet one of his descendants,  the well known barrister Paddy Packenham, when I was working in a psychiatric hospital in the early 1980s. He and I shared an interest in horse racing and traded tips, when he was well enough to focus on The Sporting Life. Funny to think of it. 

Today was all fire fighting and annoyances so at six o’clock we downed tools as a team and had a glass of wine on zoom. The freezing temperatures continue so I used overwork as an excuse not to venture out. Apparently it will be minus seven tonight. 

I can’t think of anything else to say so am going to bed now to do the crossword.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.