Photoliff

By Photoliff

Checking

Taken in London in 2017. Leica M7, 35mm, HP5+

I was out yesterday shooting film and really enjoying it. It was a bit of a struggle to start with, as nowadays I mostly tend to just fire a few frames off here and there and focus mainly on digital. 

However, switching things around and shooting primarily with film has been interesting. I had got used to checking the rear LCD screen and seeing if I 'got' the image. With film, of course, checking the back just leads to seeing what ISO setting the film is at (well, on my camera anyway)! 

Now that I have shot pretty much exclusively with film for about a week, I have noticed that the return of the rhythm of just shooting and moving on. Where at the beginning of the month it was a source of anxiety not knowing what has been captured, now the 'not-knowing' has actually become relaxing!

Let's see what happens over the rest of this month. It'll could either become some transcendent experience or a desperate run back to digital!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.