Here we go again – Day 38

This morning when Ann woke up the whole of the left side of her body was in pain. And I mean pain. Serious, could hardly move about, pain! She immediately thought that she must have Covid because she'd been reading about new symptoms, one of which was muscle pain, and as she hadn't done anything to cause muscle pain, that seemed to be the obvious answer. She struggled around the block with me and although it was painful, it was manageable and she'd promised me another big, long walk, so after breakfast we set off on this mornings snowy hike. We went to 'Craigmillar Park Golf Course' and had a fabulous 2hr walk in the snow.

What a beautiful day. Our weather app said it was -9C but our weather app often lies the sun was shining and it was so hot Ann had to take her gloves off. In fact it was also so hot in our flat (because it faces south and the sun was so bright) that we didn't need to put the heating on until about 3pm. Unfortunately after sitting for a couple of hours, Ann was in real pain again, so she actually went to bed for an hour. And I lay on the bed with her because she didn't have the energy to move me! At 4pm she got up and said, 'Trixie, I need to take you for a little walk for toileting purposes and then when we come back I'll phone NHS 111 and see why they think the muscles on the left side of my body are hurting.' ….........Actually before we went out on my walk she did some more googling to see if she could find out why only the left side of her body was hurting. But Google wasn't very helpful.

Anyway, we trekked around the streets for 20 mins and a couple of times she almost fell over because the compacted snow had turned very icy and by this time it probably was -9C. …............And then......................... light-bulb moment.................... she remembered that she'd fallen down yesterday. At the time she didn't think too much about it apart from being embarrassed because she'd let go of my lead and I'd wandered over to a very old man to do some of my silly jumping up because she fell forward, landed on her knees and put her hands out to save herself so thought she was OK. Obviously she must have twisted her body in the process. She's still in pain but at least she now knows why. And she's just poured herself a glass of wine so soon the pain will be anaesthetised. Phew!!

I had a fantastic time running around in all the deep snow and do you know what?...................... I absolutely LOVE the paw washer that Ann bought me a week ago. I stay lovely and clean in the snow but unfortunately I get loads of little icy snowballs in between the claws on my paws and they're really painful. They don't bother me when I'm running around in deep snow but when I'm back on my lead walking home, I have to keep stopping to try and pull them out. But I never can because they are well and truly frozen onto me. As soon as we get home Ann defrosts me. She puts some warm water into my paw washer and I stand ever so nicely while she defrosts my paws. It really is one of the best things she's ever bought for me. And yes, I suppose I could just put my paws into a bucket of water, but actually the little bristly things mean that all my four paws are done in a couple of mins. #Fabulousinvention

…..............And now we're watching 'Songs and Sundowners'. Apart from going to the supermarket once a week, it's the highlight of Ann's week.

Happy Thursday evening Blippers. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.