Nicky

By nicky

Blanket of cloud

The sky this morning, looking as though a blanket is being pulled across the sky.

Drawing class this evening. The tutor took inspiration from Hockney’s My Window series. We had to bring along a photo of the view from our window and then draw it using colour media. I tried using colour pastels which I’ve never tried before but they were nothing like I was expecting! I thought they’d be soft and creamy (I don’t know where I got that impression from) but they are very chalky and frankly very messy! And very difficult to control and mix. I didn’t get the whole picture finished - we only have 2 hours - and I’m not sure I’ll bother. Not my favourite medium - I prefer oil pastels, I think. But good to have tried them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.