Cold and a cold

How have I managed to catch an end of term cold? I’ve not even been in school! But somehow I am sneezing and sniffling all over the place (Covid test negative) so I know it’s just a cold at least.
The ice outside is phenomenal, I don’t think I’ve ever seen it like this is other than in Scotland or Norway!
Speaking of Scotland, we would normally be on our way up north for our annual family trip to the Cairngorms. This will be the first year in over 30 years (other than the year I was in Norway) that we won’t have been. In the big scheme of things I can’t complain but I’m not going to lie, I’m gutted.
I haven’t seen my sister now for a year, we were all on holiday together this time last year. My parents have had the most difficult few months and it would be so lovely to spend a week together but sadly it can’t be this year and we will just have to accept it’s going to be a few more months.

Despite all of the above I’m feeling very grateful for all that we do have. I got some tragic news last night that a former colleague, Jenny had passed away. She was a similar age to me with two girls. It certainly put things into perspective and I can’t even begin to imagine the pain her family are going through. Life can be so cruel sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.