horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Kingspotting

As we looped home on our walk, passing over a small burn that runs through the local golf course, I stopped briefly in the hope of seeing a Kingfisher. I've only seen one here before, but hope springs eternal. Nothing spotted, we carry on, and I glance right again, and there he is sitting on the edge of a bridge. No idea why I didn't spot him first time, but always a joy when you do.

Followed him along the burn a little way, always trying to keep a respectful distance, though I do think I spooked him once. but he was having success, catching 2 or 3 fish in the short time we watched. 

Couldn't decide between two shots, so there's an extra as well - which is more of a 'context' photo, but I really like the starry fronds of the shot above, even if it does mean he's slightly obscured.

* all black bill means it's a male.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.