Chocolate Chip Pancakes

I'm not really big on breakfast foods. However my grandson's favorite thing to order at the diner or at IHOP is chocolate chip pancakes and I have to say, I find myself hoping he doesn't finish them so I could steal a piece!

When I was a child I would go on camping trips with my cousin Pam and her family, my Aunt Barbara and Uncle Bob and Pam's siblings. My Uncle would wake up early in the mornings while we were all still comfortable in our sleeping bags and he would start cooking chocolate chip pancakes. I had never had them before this and perhaps it was being outdoors that made them smell and taste so good but I was hooked!
You know how they say that smells and tastes are such strong memory triggers? I think when I taste one of my grandson's chocolate chip pancakes I'm transported back in time to when I was just a kid myself. Life was so simple. I loved camping and waking up in the cool summer mornings inside the tent and looking up thru the screens to seeing nothing but trees and blue skies. I loved the smells of the coffee perking on the propane stove and those chocolate chip pancakes cooking on the griddle. Great memories.
This photo was all that was left of my grandson's pancakes today and yes, I did end up eating it! Hard to resist those melted chocolate chips and powdered sugar sprinkled on top. YUMMMM

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.