Billy Goat

By billygoat

No time to lose

Can’t sit around drinking hot chocolate and eating almond croissants, the temperature is nudging 3 deg C and spring is just around the corner, so boat jobs are critical (before house and garden jobs rear their heads).
So it was a second coat of paint on the centreboard and rudder this morning and some turning this afternoon. Last year I put a temporary aluminium pivot in the rudder because I had no 10mm diameter stainless tube. In one short season the ally had gone manky and needed replacing. I had some 10 mm stainless steel rod so drilled an 8mm hole through the middle to make a spacer. Actually I drilled a 3mm, 4.5mm 6mm, 7mm and an 8mm hole. My little lathe isn’t powerful enough to do it in one go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.