Fish

Very yummy, especially with vinegar and garlic... and rice, of course.

This was for dinner.  Just before dinner, though, a rather disquieting email from the Viking about a couple of delays.  The feeling crept up on me through the evening and before I knew it I was in a bit of a panic.  The first thing that came to my mind was... is Jay paying under the table to create these unnecessary delays?  He has more than enough to do that if he really wants to throw the case off track.  Apped the Viking that I wanted to talk to him before I went to bed, which would be early in the morning there.  Sure enough, he phoned a bit past 23.00.  No need to feel depressed, he said, as Jay would have nowhere to hide if all of that came out, and it would look very bad for 'some people' who have a lot more to lose than Jay.  He explained the probable cause for the delays and we agreed that it would be good for me to be present for the hearing this coming Thursday.  I look forward to receiving the video link.

After the Viking, I had to talk to Mimi.  Same message -- don't worry.  She used to work in 'that circuit' and knows pretty much how the bribery system works.  Basically, the higher the position, the greater the risk, so it's the middlemen and lower ranking staff who get bribed, and the delays they create aren't all that effective.  They have no power to influence how the case will turn out, which is, I suppose, the whole point.

The rest of the day was uneventful -- supermarket errands, some housekeeping, AW's Monday evening bridge online, and my research.

THANK YOU for leaving all the stars and comments for my windmill shots.  They are my way of trying to make life in general, and lockdown circumstances in particular, a little more interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.