Genetta

By Genetta

Cinematic Torture

Why do I torture myself with romantic French films? Any romantic movie really. I should stop but I can't. Tonight's movie had to be paused and I had a little melt down. The leading man was trying to get the leading lady out on a date.

"Nous allons avoir dîner
Let's have dinner

Juste une fois
Just once

Après, Je ne vais vous ennuyer aucuns plus
Afterwards, I will bother you no more"

I had that type of conversation, in English, by a boy I went to high school with. I thought him annoying and agreed so he would leave me alone. We had such a great evening. We dated for a couple of years, lost touch with each other and then found each other again.

A few years ago I went to visit him, and his boyfriend. It was a great visit but sadly he took his own life a year after that. I have fond memories, but I do miss our friendship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.