Windmill 'Catharina', Schijndel

'Schijndel' sounds close to 'Shine-duhl'.  First say 'shine'... then try 'shkine'... and then, finally, put an extra 'h' after the 'k' and make the 'k' really, really soft = 'shkhine-duhl'.

According to the weather bureau, a lot of dust and sand particles blew across the country all the way from the Sahara, and that was the reason there was a light yellowish haze in the sky.  I hope it will be gone by tomorrow.  Perhaps it is my age, or maybe age doesn't matter, but I appear to have lately become more sensitive to particles like these.

The windmill is between a used-car junkyard and the local Boots, which is part of a low-level apartment block.  I parked close to the entrance of the junkyard, inside, but had to walk all the way around to the parking area behind the apartments for better shots.

Before I left the house, though, there was a lengthy conversation with the Viking.  It would appear that the judge reversed the decision made by the previous judge last year, appointing Doña as my administratrix.  The judge did this without prior notice, without clarification, without any formal announcement of any kind.  This is highly suspicious activity and Mimi and I suspect that a form of corruption is in play, the kind that Jay can afford and could be willing to pay if given the proper motivation.  The Viking, though, says that this judge already has some kind of reputation for being eccentric and doing things 'his' way, which is still not correct, however way you put it.  Whatever the situation is, we are sticking with the game plan for now, that we might later not be accused of operating 'outside the book' ourselves.

Have I been too naive at this point?  Jay might not have a penthouse at the 'top floor' but he has more than enough to compensate for this defect.  I wonder what he's thinking.  Some people have commented to Mimi that I should have undertaken this a decade ago, but I had other priorities then, besides the fact that I was practically shouted out of the argument by the main parties.  I expressed my disappointment in a lengthy text to the Viking.  No, I haven't been naïve.  I just do not believe in a primitive power grab and would rather settle my affairs properly, or, as some might put it, civilly.  Something historically significant happened quite, quite recently in another country that can be said to illustrate this.

You might guess I didn't get down to doing any research today.  AW, though, had a fairly good Monday online bridge session, and finished at fifth place.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.