Journies at home

By journiesathome

Braking time

I've become increasingly interested by time.  Being on sick leave for  a few weeks gives you time to think, and It's been the latter part of this time of stillness that I've begun to begin to understand (tardively to be sure.  I am slow). Heading back to the chalk face on Monday will either break this clarity (hmmm) or test its strength.  I woke up early with the thought that only one day protects me from the day before I have to leave my bubble, which, while being small and rather exclusive has also been surprisingly elastic and illuminating.  I've had a theory since I was smallish that childhood seems long because in a 24 hour period a child feels a plethora of emotions, encounters countless new sensations and has to process them, so 24 hours pulls out into weeks and months of fresh newness.  Yes, obvs, routine kicks in etc.  
With this in mind I've tried to brake time today.  to slow it down into tiny moments. I walked with my Mu down our old village paths but they were new again.  Spring new and hopeful.  The girls pulled an old table into the field between two hedges, we all ate together and the sun stopped for a moment.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.