We have lift off!

Sunday 28th February 2021

What a gloriously sunny day it has been. Straight after the service I took some time to go for a walk and visited Carr Mill Dam. I had been given a tip-off about how to get to a viewing screen. After a little search I managed to find it. No kingfisher about though! Someone had put bird seed along the top of the screen so I propped myself against a tree and enjoyed about 45mins of watching the birds. I experimented with trying to catch them in flight, trying different settings. I had taken the long lens but it was quite close and I didn't really need it. It seemed to get heavier each time I tried to lift it! I found I needed to have a wider angle to stand any chance of catching them in flight. In one jump they could manage to be out of the frame before I even noticed. I got better at anticipating but the majority of my photos either had just a tail or no bird at all! Out of 403 shots I got 13 possibles and only really two half decent, even they are not as sharp as I would have liked. The second is in the extras.

This evening I went to my bubble friend's house. We're continuing our series of themed dinners. Tonight we celebrated the eve of St David's Day and she cooked a Welsh Cawl stew and Welsh cakes for afters. Delicious!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.