Short-toed treecreeper

I have no good photos today, so here is an old one, taken years ago in Germany on a small travel zoom camera. Not until I blew it up did I really see what it was like. I was told this is what Germans call a Gartenbaumläufer (literally garden treecreeper, in English called short-toed treecreeper) rather than a Waldbaumläufer (forest trecreeper, in English called Treecreeper). They are so similar that I am willing to be corrected.
This one is not found in the UK.
These photos have been mentioned in comments recently so I am showing them despite the fact they were massively blown up. I haven't lightened them.
Oh yes, if you want to photograph treecreepers, keep an eye out when you are walking past biggish trees - they swoop straight to the bottom and then spiral upwards - you should be able to guess where the bird will appear again because its speed doesn't change much. Nuthatches, on the other hand, may go up or down the tree, not the photographer's friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.