B.A.C.K. to Basics

By AmyT

Reward

Is it wrong that I’ve begun rewarding myself for making it through another Monday? No, shhh. Nevermind, I don’t want to know don’t care.

It was a Day. Started with a call that The water main broke in town and Colby will not have class today (great, like he needs another day off from school). Then, at work for 1/2 hour when sirens fly by my office to the next shopping plaza up. Gas leak at Sears & Big lots. Just what our town needs is another propane explosion. Then an hour passed and more sirens fly by. This time police of all departments. Soon we learn that in the next town, a man has broken into a home and held its occupants (a man and three adolescents) hostage at gunpoint. The hostages are tied up with zip ties and there were reports of shots fired. Schools were evacuated and we all felt on edge. As that continued, around noon, yup... more sirens. Fire and police pile into the Walmart across the street for, what we discovered later, was a bomb threat. It was a day!

Happy to report the propane leak and Walmart bomb threat were both resolved without incident. I am still waiting for reports on the hostage situation and will continue to pray for the family involved.

Tonight, I shared a meal with my boys, messaged my girl to tell her I love her and will drink my wine to calm my nerves while I return work emails. I consider it my reward for getting through this anxiety filled day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.