Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Making gravy

I've just about warmed up after spending yesterday in Town.

I need a warming lunch.

I managed to get a couple of Barnsley chops from the butchers. I decided to cook them low and slow (3 hours at 150 degrees).

After searing the seasoned chops I caramelised some banana shallots in the pan. I then added a mixture of chicken stock, red wine, Worcestershire sauce, thinly sliced garlic, rosemary and a lot of black pepper.

After I reduced the gravy down a bit I added a dollop of mint jelly and thickened it with some slaked cornflour.

After checking the seasoning I poured the gravy over the chops in a casserole dish and popped it all in the oven.

A delicious, warming treat. I find the meat goes a lot further if you cook it this way as the meat just falls off the bone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.