Closed

I remember on one of my earlier trips to Athens stumbling across this cafe and staying for dinner. It has a view to the Acropolis and is in a garden, out of sight. There were big tubs of bushes, separating it from the walkway and I have good memories of a nice evening. And until recently those plants were still there, but sadly, not now. Cleared inside and out. So much is closing here. I wandered down to the park area and sat and listened to the wind in the trees. A year of Covid and it’s all or nothing with lockdowns. Yet child and teen suicide rates are up, and those in aged care facilities are suffering from isolation. Unintended consequences which we don’t seem to be able to address. It would require more thought and planning, but is necessary.
I walked home, discovered a cafe for takeaway in the park, next to an outdoor sports area. A nice chat with the owner, good coffee and cake, classical music. I’ll go back.
Worrying call from a friend tonight in Kw8. Something has happened to H. He’s a friend and like a brother to G; a good, kind Egyptian. She called back to tell me he’s in jail for picking up a parcel. Something’s not right, he wouldn’t do this. Like many he’s fallen on hard times and is being exploited by his sponsor. I’ve contacted my lawyer friend for advice. I hope he’ll be ok tonight.
And some study was done, and a Pilates class fitted in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.