MerlotsDad

By MerlotsDad

Grendon Hall

It's my Mum's Birthday today & she is 77, Happy Birthday Mum !
On the way to see her Carol & I called at this beautiful house in order to get a picture.
Grendon Hall, located between Grendon Underwood & Edgcott, is a 19th Century House built around 1882.
During the war it was a Radio station and doubled as an SOE Station (No 53a).
The station's main role was to liaise with the French resistance.
After the war the house became a boarding school for polish girls - my father mentioned this to me on more than one occasion ,,, !
In 1962 it was purchased by the Home Office who built a prison in its grounds.
Today it is offices - you can drive quite close but there are security cameras dotted around so its likely I became a blip today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.