1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

#saraheverard

We were supposed to light a candle for Sarah ( and all women who’s lives have been taken by men ) and place it on our doorsteps.

I put mine outside my bedroom window so’s it could be seen. I brought it in just before I went to sleep this morning.

There but for the grace of God go I.

I wear short skirts. I walk around alone. I wear earphones as I walk because I want to listen to music.

But I AM mindful of where I go and what my surroundings are, and I research my route if I’m going somewhere new, and I keep my phone in my hand as it has a high pitched alarm on it, and I arrange to meet someone so if I’m late they will worry. It never crossed my mind that these are things that women are mindful of, whereas the majority of men just leave the house.

But then you see the stats on men killing women in their own homes. Relatives, men known to them.

When will humans just be nice to each other? Race, colour, gender, sexuality - all that matters is to be a nice person and it would be so much easier to bury my head in the sand and say “I’m alright Jack” ... but I know that’s not good enough and we have to engage in any small way we can. For now, that means lighting a candle. Other women were braver than that last night and were arrested ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.