A WORD IN YOUR SHELL-LIKE

Thanks for all the comments yesterday. Back to a grey day with a bitter wind. I took another (rushed) walk along the beach where the aliens were exploring yesterday.

Whatever they found they left some gems behind - this image reminds me of golden rays of sun across the horizon. In reality it is, of course, a scallop shell.

A scallop is a marine bivalve mollusc found in all of the world's oceans. Scallops are prized as a food and taste delicious.

Often used as a symbolic badge by explorers, I found this verse for today, written by no other than Sir Walter Raleigh.

Give me my scallop shell of quiet;
My staff of faith to walk upon;
My scrip of joy, immortal diet;
My bottle of salvation;
My gown of glory (hope's true gage)
And then I'll take my pilgrimage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.